Cardinal Francis George of the Archdiocese of Chicago: An Open letter Concerning LGBT Children

Joe_Murray_Cardinal_George_edited-4

Eminence:

I hope this public letter finds you in good health.

The issue of LGBT kids in Catholic homes, and homeless LGBT children on the streets of our city is in my opinion a scandal; not because of those who are helping, but because of those who are not.

Recently I became aware of what is happening at Old St. Patrick’s Parish about LGBT children in Catholic homes. My joy over this effort quickly evolved into concern.

What concerns me the most are the conflicting messages that I am getting about the group’s purpose and the role the Church’s teaching on the homosexual person will play. Additionally, I am told you are opposed to working with PFLAG because you feel this organization is too political, rather you are encouraging a Catholic response to PFLAG.

My problem and the reason for this letter is the apparent lack of consistency when it comes to the promotion of the Church’s Teaching on the homosexual person. This wink and nod attitude in its promotion will only put these children in harm’s way.

As you know I am opposed to this Teaching, and believe that reasonable people in the Church will also be opposed to it if they are made aware of its hazardous implications to the mental health of LGBT children. I believe the current atmosphere in the Church not to be supportive of LGBT couples, their children, or that of straight couples who have LGBT children.

We are called to do better than this especially when it comes to children’s safety.

I will keep you in my prayers especially during this historical time in the Church.

Sincerely,

Joe Murray
Executive Director
Rainbow Sash Movement

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

